I’ve learned to like the sound of my own voice.

I’m sure there were times when some of you who are old enough to remember answering machines had the awful experience of hearing your voice for the first time.  Everyone’s responses to this even are pretty much the same: “That’s what I sound like?  I sound awful.”

As I mentioned earlier, I’ve started a website with some of my close friends with whom I spent time coaching baseball with over the past few years.  Throughout our discussions it was obvious how much we all shared a passion for baseball, so when I brought the idea up to them about starting a website that covers baseball in the tri-state area, their responses were both an immediate yes. (And my one friend Jason who joined in on the venture had said that he had been thinking about a similar idea himself.)

One branch of our coverage that we’re going to provide is going to be a podcast that, as of now, we’re producing weekly.  The first time I put on a pair of headphones and sat down to talk into the microphone, I was stunned to hear my own voice.  And then I was mildly annoyed by it.

However, over the last few weeks as I’ve gotten better with the podcasting thing, I’ve learned to enjoy my voice a little more. I’m excited to continue to work on developing unique baseball commentary and coverage throughout 2013.
And hopefully I won’t hate the sound of my own voice by the end of it.

Leave a Reply

