I’m a winner! Kind of!

When I was in elementary school, track and field day was undoubtedly the most exciting day of the year.  No matter how athletic you were, Mr. Mumau guaranteed that you would leave school that day with a ribbon for something.  You could see the smiles on kids’ faces as they walked away with their yellow 4th, 5th, and/or 6th place ribbon.  Despite the fact that the ribbon was for a finish outside of places 1 through 3, those kids got to walk up to the middle of the gym in front of the whole school and get their award.

Because I don’t have anything to do during the summer, I find all kinds of stuff to waste my time with on the internet during the day.  Like getting to chat with Seth Everett on ESPN’s website.  One of the baseball blogs I frequent, Big League Stew, has, on occasion, a caption contest, where they put up a picture and let the readers try and come up with clever captions.  I’m a pretty witty guy, so if I happen upon the Stew on a caption day, I’ll throw my hat into the ring.

Ladies and gentlemen, my most recent yellow ribbon.

The first of many awards I intend on winning playing Big League Stew's Create-a-Caption Contest.

I liked mine better than those other three.  Check out the original article here while you wait on pins and needles for the results from the Torii Hunter caption contest.

Leave a Reply

