I try to avoid supporting local business: Vol. 1: On the Edinboro Hotel

Growing up in Northwestern Pennsylvania, I’ve learned to appreciate some of the things this area has to offer, as evidenced by here and here.  If that’s not enough for you, I will tell you that I live in a landlocked state, but there is a beach within a half hour drive that I have access to.  On numerous occasions I have noted (in front of witnesses) that I feel Erie, Pennsylvania’s State Street is just as fun as any other street in America that I’ve been to.

That's snow for those of you from places with climates that don't suck.

That being said, growing up in an area your entire life, you learn that there are places that suck.  I have experienced plenty of those as well.  I also take into consideration that there are plenty of places in other parts of the world that I have been to that also suck.  It’s just that when you live and go to college in a town where there are only four bars, one learns relatively quickly what one is seeking in a social establishment.  There aren’t a lot o places in Edinboro, Pennsylvania worth visiting.  Which leads me to the Edinboro Hotel.

Last summer (July 1st, to be exact) my best friend and little brother helped me relocate my life back to Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania.  I left a steady job, a fantastic place to live in downtown Raleigh, awesome friends, and an amazing girlfriend to move back home.  This move was prompted by the fact that I would be able to go to graduate school at little-to-no personal expense.

Upon my return, I found the Edinboro Hotel exactly as I had left it; terrible service, overcrowded, full of douchebags, and about as fun as jamming an icepick in my eye.  There’s loud club music playing every weekend, without the cool ambiance of actually being in a club.  There are bathrooms without stalls or locks, however.  I have literally been going to that bar since I was 21 years of age and continue to get carded there every weekend I go.  In fact, the only time I’ve ever actually been acknowledged as a customer by the owner of the place (who bartends on most busy weekends) was a weekend when a friend obnoxiously flipped a pitcher off of the table and broke it.  The owner came over and clapped me on the shoulder and said, ‘That’ll be $5.00.’

That’s after six years of business.  Needless to say, I do not enjoy that establishment in the least.

Some people may ask, ‘Why do you continue to go there?’  I don’t have a good answer for that question, other than the fact all of my friends frequent there.  I realized tonight after witnessing someone who was on parole take his shirt off and grind his genitals on a younger female, that I can’t keep going there without going Ernest Hemingway on myself.  I walked into that place tonight and it was like the nexus of everything that I hate in life.  If the galaxy were to collapse upon itself and existence as we know it were to end, I feel like it would occur there.

This is how the Edinboro Hotel Bar makes me feel.

I know, I know.  It’s a very simple solution to a very uncomplex problem.  Stop going to the Edinboro Hotel Bar if it makes you feel like that.  It’s easier said than done, I suppose.  I’ve heard that insanity is continuing to do the same thing and expecting a different result.  Well, maybe you should color me insane.

But just like Bruce Willis taught me: old habits Live Free or Die Hard.  With a Vengeance.

What the end of every night feels like after I continually try and experience night life in Edinboro, Pennsylvania.

2 Responses to I try to avoid supporting local business: Vol. 1: On the Edinboro Hotel

  1. Jonathan says:

    Hey, I am the reason that the owner acknowledged you! No need to thank me (although I think I still owe you $5).

  2. Andy says:

    Ha ha. That was one of the most obnoxious things I’ve ever seen you do. That being said, it’s pretty funny in hindsight.

Leave a Reply

