On World Cup Soccer

I am not a soccer fan at all.  I couldn’t name a player for you outside of Landon Donovan.  I know England’s coach looks like the janitor from the TV show ‘Scrubs’.  I couldn’t tell you a stat that they keep other than a goal.  I can sing the Olé, olé, olésong, but that’s about the extent of my soccer knowledge.

I’m one of those sports fans who would rather watch a Timberwolves-Bobcats preseason game or a Pirates-Astros game in May than Germany v. England.  I’m sure that a great deal of that sentiment stems from the fact that I didn’t grow up around soccer.  I’d compare my feelings towards soccer to someone who didn’t grow up around baseball.  Typically, people find baseball to be painfully boring to watch, especially on TV.  I suppose it would be boring if you didn’t understand the intricacies of the game.  And that’s where I’m at with soccer.  Maybe I just don’t get it.

I watched soccer all throughout the first two weeks of the World Cup.  My roommate has really taken to watching the tournament, so I’ve tuned in to watch some of the best footballers on the planet kick the ball around on the pitch.  I watched every team USA game and tried to learn the regular USA soccer fan stuff, but in the end, I knew I was just posing.  I tried getting into it, I really did.  However, in the end, I found soccer to be too painfully boring for me to become a real fan.

I will say, however, that some of the best sports commercials I have seen in a while were from this World Cup.

Maybe in 2014, World Cup.

Leave a Reply

