Celebrities aren’t famous for being smart.

I heard about this a while back, but shrugged it off, mostly because celebrities say stupid things all the time. They aren’t famous for their intellect. Unless that’s what all the kids are calling it now-a-days. For example, Sheryl Crow wants to save the environment by encouraging people to only use one square of toilet paper per toilet visit. I know Sheryl Crow is a celebrity, which means she probably doesn’t ever have to shit – ever – but talk about being out of touch. It takes three squares of two-ply double-soft for me to blow my nose when I run out of Kleenex.

So yesterday it came up in conversation about how stupid celebrities are and it made me curious about something that I remembered Jennifer Aniston saying a while back that struck me as insane.  After a little Googling, I found the original article at AskMen.com, which you can read here, if you’d like. If not, I’ll summarize momentarily, so sit tight.

Jennifer Aniston is an environmental activist. That’s fantastic. If everybody does their small part, it’ll all add up to something big. Power to the people, let’s move the masses. Lots of hands make light work. Somebody famous once said that. I think it may have been that dude… Jesus. Or my grandfather. I can’t remember which.

So Jennifer does her part to help save the environment by – wait for it – showering and brushing her teeth at the same time!

Kind of a let down, huh? Someone with all that money and influence and that’s the best she has for me. I’m going to give Jennifer the benefit of the doubt and say that maybe she wanted to try and spread the word among the masses that there’s something in which everyone can participate to help out the environment. I’ve been showering and brushing my teeth at the same time for a while now, albeit not for environmental purposes. So, what’s the problem? Here’s what irked me about this whole situation.

I'm so hot, I can say whatever I want.

“Every two minutes in the shower uses as much water as a person in Africa uses for everything in their life for a whole day!” she went on to say.

Once someone cavalierly starts making analogies to third world places of residence like that, I can’t sit and listen to what they have to say without learning a little bit about them. Gee, every two minutes in the shower is more water than someone in Africa uses in an entire day? You don’t say, Jen! I wonder what those same people in Africa could do with the fifteen million dollars you spent on your Beverly Hills mansion. I’d have to sit down and do the math, but I’m pretty sure that a lot of them could fit into 9,000 square feet. Maybe we should drain that humongous swimming pool and mail all that water to Africa.  Then you could teach them all to take two minute showers so they aren’t wasting all the water you gave them from your awesome swimming pool.

Please don’t try and guilt me into feeling bad for taking a fifteen minute shower in the morning.  It’s the best part of my day.

3 Responses to Celebrities aren’t famous for being smart.

  1. karan says:

    if u reduce ur bathing time merely by 1 or 2 mins then also lot of water can b saved….n nt all celebrities say stupid things in case of jennifer’s stayement about africa n shower i think she is right……think on it.

  2. […] my dashboard here at WordPress to see what’s going on with my blog.  I’ve learned that Jennifer Aniston is a huge draw around these parts, so be on the look out for more Jennifer Aniston posts on the horizon.  ‘Τζένιφερ […]

Leave a Reply

